Scott often laughs at me because I always say, “I am not making any New Year’s Resolutions because I don’t like feeling like a failure on January 15th when I have broken one.”  It makes more sense to me to strive everyday to be a better,kinder, more responsible healthier person then to just try real hard on January 1 and then just go back to being ‘normal’ by the 15th (which is usually how long I keep my resolutions)!  I am a pretty disciplined person and usually feel like once I put my mind to something, I can stay the course and make it through the end.  BUT..there is something intimidating about “NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS” to me.  I feel so legalistic with the resolutions and I feel like there is a lot of pressure to keep them and they are usually difficult to keep . 

My issue with New Years Resolutions isn’t that they are goals/resolutions we set, but that they are focused to one particular time of year.  People usually set resolutions for January 1st such as I need lose weight, get in better shape, be a better mom, accomplish more , and on and on.  So, you are starting the year off focusing on all the things you think you are not.  Celebrate the NEW YEAR and start it off with all the great accomplishments you made during the previous year.  Use that as your catapult to even greater things in 2013.  If the previous year was not a good one for you, use the New Year as your new beginning , which doesn’t mean you have to overnight become the person you really want to be.  Celebrate the person you are. We all are created in his image and have some amazing qualities.  Focus on making those stronger. I am not saying that we shouldn’t focus on areas we need to improve but why do we all start the year off that way.  I believe 97% of New Year’s Resolutions are broken (which I am not sure how accurate this statistic is because no one has ever called  me and asked if I have stuck to my resolutions, but I usually don’t).  The 10 most popular resolutions are spending more time with family and friends, get in shape, lose weight, quit smoking, quit drinking, relax/enjoy life, get out of debt, learn something new, help others and get organized.  All of these are great things to do, but shouldn’t we all strive to do most of these things on a daily basis?  We are all human and will not always be kind (human nature does get the best of us sometimes), we will eat the brownie, skip the workout, work too much, spend too much money, and the list goes on.  

I am an advocate of using New Year’s as a celebration.  Celebrate the New Year, celebrate the old you, and celebrate that everyday you will strive to be a stronger , better, kinder , more responsible yet fun person!  Look at the New Year as your fresh start , but don’t use it as your time to set strict resolutions that you probably won’t keep and then feel like your fresh start was a failure. Go into 2013 setting goals, and striving to accomplish those goals but run the steady, long race. Wake up every morning dying to yourself and striving to be more and more like our Father.  He loved and was loved, he exercised and was fit, he enjoyed hard work, friendships, he turned the other cheek, he was always the better person, he led by example, he was unconditional, forgiving, strong, consistent, and never gave up.  He did all these things all the time, not just a few days or weeks out of the year.  

So, I encourage you to set your goals and strive to be the best you can be.  The best The Creator created you to be and don’t try and become this person in 30 days, but run the race and run it well finishing strong.  That can be your resolution!

